Oracle Buys Sun Microsystems

This post has moved!

3 Responses to “Oracle Buys Sun Microsystems”


  1. 1 Nate April 20, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Great overview. I wonder if Google’s announcement of Java support on their appengine platform had any last-minute effect on the purchase price?

  2. 2 cportocarrero April 20, 2009 at 10:49 am

    What’s this appengine platform of which you speak of, Nate? Is this one of those “just for programmers” type deals? Or is there some way this impacts more than just programmers?

    And I know it sounds pretty bad to say “just programmers,” but that’s not how I meant it.

  3. 3 Havvy April 20, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Surprisingly, this is the first I’ve heard of such a deal going on. I ‘own’ both as I see them both as economically intelligent companies, but the amount gained was very low as the amount I have in Sun is 10% of what I have in Oracle. Outside of a stock market (even a psuedo-stock market), is, how will this effect the tech world?

    Sun also owns Solaris, and is a sponsor of OpenOffice. Oracle has their databases, and this is not their first takeover. Thing is, I just don’t see what Oracle can do with the products and services that Sun delivers…


Leave a Reply

